Daily Archives: November 13, 2009

Friday the 13th

Woo, I’m scared!

Not really. I have a black cat. Friday the 13th is every day in our house. I also walk under ladders and step on cracks (sorry about your back, Mom.)

I don’t know where I’m going with this. Only that we’re 13 days into November and I signed up for this NaBloPoMo and by golly, I’m going to post every day this month.

I could talk about the boys’ upcoming birthday party. How about that? It’s going to be at the Children’s Museum here, because after last year, I vowed never to have it at home again. No way. Too much work, our house is too small, and the weather in December is too iffy. Might be cold, might not be, might be rainy, might not be.

A bajillion kids in the playroom: (and yes, Natural Light.)

Not to mention, I didn’t get a single good picture of the boys last year eating their cake. I got a few red-eyed, washed out shots, but nothing good. Nothing of the outdoor decor (I got strings of pennants like you see at car dealerships and bunches of helium balloons, I’m sure it was pretty. I don’t even think I saw it, I was so rushed) not to mention not one of all five of us.

So this year is going to be different. Let the Children’s Museum people set it up and clean up later. All we have to do is bring some food and drinks.

Now. It’s still me. I can’t just let it be a generic Children’s Museum party, right? Back in the summer, I got a great deal on these Martha Stewart monkey-themed party decorations. So I snapped up a bunch of them and the boys are having a monkey-themed party. (This year is rather monkey-themed, what with their Halloween costumes and monkey tennis shoes.) (No, they’re not wearing their costumes to their party.) (But the thought did cross my mind.)

And this year, I’m NOT feeling the need to make cupcakes from scratch. It’s gonna be boxed mix all the way this year. Or possibly a trip to Sam’s or the grocery store. It’s possible I did order too many different cupcake flags and toppers from Etsy and we might end up with six times more cupcakes than necessary, just to accommodate them all, but that’s okay. Nothing wrong with too many cupcakes! No such thing!

Last year’s slaved-over cupcakes: (and yes, Natural Light.)

I have the birthday banner I made last year that I spent countless hours on, and this year I’m going to get pictures of the boys under it. Maybe even with George and I! Dare to dream….