Daily Archives: September 10, 2009

Now I’m in for it.

So, I think it’s safe to say we’ve spent a lot of time at Children’s Hospital. Mostly for the asthma stuff, but there were a few other visits, like Miles’s broken head on Christmas day, and the fun surgery I like to refer to thusly:

[-(tubes+adenoids)]x3

I kind of enjoyed math in high school. Until it got really hard and I had to cry and beg my calculus teacher to give me a C so I could graduate from our nerd school and not have to repeat the 12th grade back at my old high school. Oh, the humiliation! I also had to do this with my physics professor.

Pam + (physics + calculus) = not good.

Best picture ever from surgery day, by the way: (babies on sedatives are funny!)

So anyway. Back to the Children’s Hospital stuff. We have spent a lot of time there in the past year. When I saw that the inaugural Jazz Half-Marathon in October was also a fund-raiser for the hospital, I knew I wanted to do the race.

I’ve done half-marathons and marathons before. Before children. Two marathons, and several halfs. Maybe five? I can’t remember. The last one was the Mardi Gras half-marathon, which I did with my friend Kettie, mom of Henry from the last post. Anyway. Let’s just say it’s been a while.

But I’m nothing if not hard-headed and stubborn, and dammit, I am going to do this race. I am planning to walk it, so don’t panic about my lack of training. I’m going to hit the treadmill as much as I can before the race, but I’m walking it. I’m not worried about finishing. It’ll be fine. I promise. Walk walk walk. I can walk 13 miles, right? No problem.

Here’s where you come in. Help me raise at least $250. It’s not hard. I had to raise ten times that back in 2003 when I did the Marine Corps Marathon for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. $250 is nothing. But let’s try to raise more than that. For purely selfish reasons, of course. Whoever raises the most money gets a fun weekend trip to NYC, and I want that trip for George and I! (Also, imagine the red carpet treatment we’ll get, next time we hit the ER at 2 am for a breathing treatment!)

Anyway. It’s easy. You can donate online here (just make sure you put in MY NAME – Pam Kocke – into the “Name of Runner You Are Sponsoring” box, so I get credit for your donation.) If you’d prefer to write a check, you can use this form. Again, just put my name in the first blank after the “I,_____”. Don’t worry, you’re not committing yourself to running the race.

Thanks, and don’t forget to make your donation! Don’t worry, though, I’ll be reminding you often. :D Mwah ha ha ha ha…